Monday, December 12, 2011

Global Semiconductor Alliance announces 2011 award recipients

SAN JOSE, USA: The Global Semiconductor Alliance (GSA) announced its 2011 awards recipients. The awards are presented each year to outstanding semiconductor companies worldwide that have demonstrated excellence through their success, vision and strategy in the industry. The 2011 awards were presented at the annual GSA Awards Dinner Celebration, held on Thursday, December 8, 2011, in Santa Clara, California.

The Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award, GSA’s most prestigious award, was presented to Dr. Henry Samueli, co-founder and chief technology officer of Broadcom Corporation. Each year this leadership award recognizes individuals, such as its namesake, Dr. Morris Chang, for their exceptional contributions to drive the development, innovation, growth and long-term opportunities for the semiconductor industry.

Members of the semiconductor industry identified the Most Respected Emerging Public and Public Semiconductor Company Award winners by casting ballots for the industry’s most respected companies in terms of products, vision and future opportunities. The “Most Respected Public Semiconductor Company Achieving $500 million to $10 billion in annual sales Award” was presented to Broadcom Corp., while the “Most Respected Public Semiconductor Company achieving $10 billion or greater in annual sales Award” was given to Intel Corp. The “Most Respected Emerging Public Company Award” recipient is NetLogic Microsystems Inc.

The “Most Respected Private Company Award” winner, selected by a GSA awards committee, is Ambarella Inc. The “Best Financially Managed Company Award” was presented to Avago Technologies for its demonstration of the best overall financial performance based on a number of key financial metrics.

Private companies that doubled their revenue over eight consecutive quarters ending June 2011 were eligible to receive the “Outstanding Revenue Growth by a Private Semiconductor Company Award.” The two recipients are SandForce Inc. and Silicon Mitus Inc.

GSA’s Emerging Company CEO Council, venture capitalists and select serial industry entrepreneurs selected the “Start-Up to Watch Award” winner by identifying the company that has demonstrated the potential to positively change its market or the industry in general through the innovative use of semiconductor technology or a new application for semiconductor technology. This prestigious honor was given to Amalfi Semiconductor.

As a global alliance, GSA awards companies headquartered in the Europe/Middle East/Africa and Asia-Pacific regions. The award winners, chosen by the leadership council of each respective region, are semiconductor companies that clearly demonstrated the most strength when measuring products, vision, leadership and success in the marketplace. The recipient of the “Outstanding APAC Semiconductor Company Award” is Global Unichip Corp., and the “Outstanding EMEA Semiconductor Company Award” was given to Dialog Semiconductor.

Semiconductor financial analysts selected their favorite semiconductor companies for the “Favorite Analyst Semiconductor Company Award.” The analysts based their decisions on historical, as well as projected data, such as stock price, earnings per share, revenue forecasts and product performance. The winner chosen by Barclays Capital was Qualcomm Inc. Morgan Stanley awarded this honor to Cavium Inc., and Needham & Company presented Broadcom Corp. with the 2011 award.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.